myendojourney

Day one

Posted on: March 2, 2011


Day one

Wednesday morning I got to have my first ever bed bath, and it was actually quite pleasant, Bernadette and Libby were incredibly gentle.  I was still unable to move my left leg at all but they managed to manoeuvre me safely with a great deal of care.

They also let me see my tummy for the first time – I had not considered what it would look like and it really took my breath away. I am sure it is incredibly neat,  but when I saw it for the first time it was bloody and swollen (as you would expect).

Caught the article on LK Today on Endometriosis and was left feeling a bit exasperated – Dr Hilary was right that yes you can have laparoscopic surgery and that a hysterectomy is not a cure but they gave so little time to the condition that I felt it raised more questions than solved them, I also felt that the item gave the impression that a hysterectomy is  the ‘easy option’ – maybe if this is the belief then you need to speak to a woman who has been faced with this decision,  I promise you easy it is not, whether you have children or not!.  The positive is that it had some coverage on national television – that is not a bad thing,  can’t win them all I guess, but it made me more determined to present a fair picture of endo with any future awareness raising.

I also had a visit from physio to run through what exercises I could start doing immediately.  I had been given a leaflet with the exercises listed and if you remember from my earlier blogs I had been practicing.  Due to how the incision was made I am unable to do them all for 2 weeks,  but I can do pelvic floor and another exercise.  The physio was incredibly impressed that I could do all the pelvic floor exercises but preferred for the time being that I build up to them rather than do too much too soon.

Now for the grim bit – because of the ‘trauma’ to my bowel I was advised to remain on a light diet and that if I need to have movement that I should get a box to put my feet on (about 20cms) and that I should not strain at all – I have 12 weeks in my mind but I was quite dazed.

The difficulty I have experienced is that whilst you are coming down from your op and on heavy meds different people trickled in and out of my room telling me bits of information,  but I don’t remember all of it – nor was I with it enough to write it all down. So I am doing my best to recall it as accurately as possible.

One of the surgeons involved in my surgery also came to see me,  we discussed how invasive my surgery had been and that it was considered major gynaecological surgery and he advised me that I had significant adhesions and scaring, that due to the extent of the surgery I may experience pain for about a year.

I have now been put off drinking rose wine for life – my catheter bag was a great shade of rose due to bleeding caused by the stents during surgery,  someone I can’t remember who commented that it looked like a good bottle of rose…….. ew!

My epidural was switched off on Wednesday morning and by mid afternoon the feeling in my leg had begun to return although it has taken a few days for it to feel normal,  during the afternoon I had my drain removed (not the nicest experience in the world) it felt great to have my body drain free as it was quite uncomfortable.

At tea time on Wednesday I was helped to stand up and have my first walk around the ward.  Its incredible that less than 24 hours before I was undergoing major surgery. Honestly I was not enamoured at the prospect of getting up and moving about but they were right, the medical staff actually know what they are talking about when they say you need to move around – you will be incredibly gassy after any surgery and movement helps the ‘wind blow free’.  Also I drank alot of hot water – I had more of this than I did peppermint and it made a real difference.  If I needed to move due to cramps caused by air whilst in bed I used the bed controls to lower me up and down,  this helped but not as much as me walking around.

The staff in Cringleford loved my pink fluffy slippers,  sadly I was unable to look down and admire them as this made me dizzy.  One of the nurses took a particular liking to them and I joked that if he gave me his name and his number I would leave them for him (he gave me neither but I still left them for him).  I did keep apologising for the amount of wind I was releasing – I know its normal but it was ever so embarrassing. I was also given by a very special friend some fairy lights and a pink feather boa – my room was certainly looking very feminine.

I considered that I had been very thorough when packing the items I took for my hospital stay,  but I did slip up on the length of my dressing gown,  if you are likely to be in short nightees you need to consider at least a knee-length dressing down and the very least.  I didn’t even think about this until I saw another patient walk past my room , too my horror I saw more than I bargained for,  and promptly asked my big sis if she could purchase me a longer one the for the next day (thanks Sis).

By late Wednesday evening they were able to remove my catheter and I was independent.

I did however feel incredibly light headed and woozy. Any movement made me feel sick and since the op I have struggled to hear properly from my left ear (random I know).

Once my visitors had left me Wednesday night I was very emotional and Nicky (Nursing staff) spent some time talking to me about why I was crying.  She said I just needed a good nights sleep.

Leave a Reply

Roses of Endometriosis

From the beginning right back to before my operation

Click to view blog entries by day to help you read in order

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 199 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 22,597 hits

Top rated posts

