myendojourney

Day Thirty Six

Posted on: April 5, 2011


Day Thirty Six

Was pleasantly surprised today but how normal I felt when I got up.  Am still sleeping with the back rest on the bed but this is mainly because if I sleep flat then I wake up when I try to roll over and this is not comfortable at all.  I probably feel as normal as I have done for 5 weeks,  which is just great news.  I am still taking things really steady.  Am helping cook tea now, which is great but I have to think it through before I cook because I am unable to lift heavy pans.  I cooked potato and leek soup but the pan is so heavy it has had to stay on the hob for when Duncan gets home.  Also I am unable to take dishes out of the oven as they are too low and then too heavy.

What has been really interesting the last couple of days has been other peoples attitudes to my recovery.  I get the impression (maybe its just paranoia) that now I am in to week 5 I need to start doing everything myself and not rely on others.  If I can do it I am , believe me,  the flip side of this is if I do too much I could potentially undo all of the support I have had from Duncan  and MIL by injuring myself and going back to square one. Which is obviously not something I want to do.

I have to keep reminding myself that it was only 4 weeks go that I couldn’t get out of bed on my own or put on my own socks.  I can now do both,  seems simple but its progress and am very welcoming of this progress.

It makes me kinda angry that people are making judgements as to what I should and shouldn’t be able to do as I feel bad enough about it as it is – I have had to put my ‘pride’ to one side and allow Duncan and MIL to wash me, feed me , do the washing etc but I am perplexed as to why people might judge me. It makes me feel that they think I am taking advantage of the situation.

Leave a Reply

Roses of Endometriosis

From the beginning right back to before my operation

Click to view blog entries by day to help you read in order

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 199 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 23,046 hits

Top rated posts

