myendojourney

week twenty one – an empowering moment

Posted on: August 8, 2011


Week twenty one – an empowering moment

I have never really been a girly girl…. well I am in some ways, in this instance I am not talking about shopping!  I refer to wearing make up, straightening my hair.  I have actually never owned a pair of my own straighteners.  Currently I am borrowing a pair from a friend who insisted !

For the last couple of months I have been making a concerted effort to apply make up, dry my hair when washed and then straighten it.  I have never understood how women with straight hair (mine is dead straight)  spend a fortune on a pair of straighteners that make you hair…… even straighter!  Whilst I am adopting this practice as part of the ‘new me’  I do find it tedious.

My empowering moment is not about hair straighteners it relates to the contents of my knicker drawer.

Throughout my life due to endo I have never worn nice underwear (excluding a few exceptions)  but thanks to the Next sale I now have a selection of matching bra’s and pants.  They were mostly waiting for me on my return from my hols.  So last night I took my drawer out from the unit, marched through the house , outside to the bin and turned the drawer upside down.  All of my old pants,  have been consigned to the rubbish dump.  Never to be looked at again.

I can honestly say it was one of the best moments ever –  and a moment in which I was able to say ‘thank god that I don’t need period pants any more

 

kind regards
Endosister Liz

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

Roses of Endometriosis

From the beginning right back to before my operation

Click to view blog entries by day to help you read in order

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 200 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 22,109 hits

Top rated posts

