myendojourney

Week twenty six – judgements

Posted on: September 3, 2011


Week twenty six – judgements

The rights of passage for a woman is fairly prescriptive.  Now in late modernity the pattern is slightly different but women are in two categories.  Mothers or career women. Women don’t naturally have the both.

Now my infertility is commonly known an observation of recent conversations I have had with people has been interesting.  Mainly focusing on my career and what my ambitions are now. In the past I have written about my struggle of understanding my identity if I was not going to be a mother.  Yet being given an identity as a career woman is something I don’t wish to be associated with either.

How dare people make assumptions that this is all I want in my life to have a successful career and earn well.

As I write this I wonder whether this makes me angry because its where I see myself currently.  My option to become a mother has been lost therefore what else is there? Why do I have to be identified by my career can I not be identified by my self and who I am becoming? why does society need to label me as one or the other?

What an interesting ponder. Likewise a colleague and I yesterday were discussing her recent new role.  She spoke of her anguish at not having a career earlier in life and how much of her identity she had lost through becoming a mother.  How ironic!

Just goes to show that the grass is not always greener and that maybe we always crave for things we havent got

Endo sister Liz

x

 

Leave a Reply

Roses of Endometriosis

From the beginning right back to before my operation

Click to view blog entries by day to help you read in order

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 199 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 22,757 hits

Top rated posts

