myendojourney

loss of femininity

Posted on: October 9, 2011


week twenty eight – loss of femininity 

A good friend of mine has recently undergone a mastectomy.  Her whole appearance has changed and she feels stripped of her femininity.  Watching the emotional roller coaster she has experienced since her op and how she has found her new identity has been quite incredible.

She bears a survival scar , one which she will have forever.  As she waits for a reconstruction day in and day out she can see the visible mark that cancer has left on her body.  How lucky am I that cancer was not the route cause of my surgery.

In many ways our emotions are similar, she feels stripped of her femininity, she feels that she has lost her identity. Her future scares her beyond belief.  Through our illnesses we have found a friendship.  One that has included me using my minute dressmaking skills to alter her bras so she can wear one with her prosthesis. As well as my electric breadknife to alter the size of her prosthesis. Ultimately we have shared emotions, hugs, laughter and become close friends. One thing that has really struck me is that she also is childless, it feels to me as if I am fulfilling the role her daughter would have taken had she had one.  Maybe thats why I feel so drawn to her.

These experiences have shaped me profoundly.This post is not related to endometriosis, yet many of the emotions are similar – I felt compelled to write about the similarities so you as my endosisters could see that femininity can be stolen by other illnesses.
Endosister Liz

x

 

Leave a Reply

Roses of Endometriosis

From the beginning right back to before my operation

Click to view blog entries by day to help you read in order

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 200 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 22,109 hits

Top rated posts

