myendojourney

Mirror image

Posted on: March 14, 2012


So my last post was written on the anniversary of my hysterectomy.  How has this year passed so quickly – I look back and think its passed in the blink of an eye.

Physically I feel I am making good progress, still having daily discomfort endo type pain particularly from the lower left side of my rib and where my ovaries used to reside.

A good friend of mine came out of hospital yesterday following breast reconstruction surgery; 10 months ago she lost a breast to cancer. Her fight has been inspirational, taking the alternative route and refusing any form of conventional intervention. Her breast cancer has been attributed to the type of HRT she was taking having had a hysterectomy in her 40’s.  Interestingly enough I didn’t know this information when I made my decision to not take HRT.

Last night I took her round some homemade soup; its not alot but just something to help out during the early days of her recovery. She was simply radiant; the weight of the world had been lifted from her shoulders – bursting to show me her new breasts. They are a marvel indeed.

Finally after 10 long months she feels like a woman again.

Her smile said it all , finally she feels whole again – even the fact that less than 24 hours earlier she had undergone major surgery wasn’t enough to stop her bounding about.

The surgeries and illnesses different but both affect who you are as a woman.

Having a hysterectomy is so hidden;  loosing your womanhood and becoming a shell. There is no prosthesis that can give an illusion of completeness.

I am not unhappy with my body just simply aware that there is a large part of my womanhood missing – absent without leave.  For everything I have gained in its loss there is still a huge sense of emptiness in its wake.

I thank my lucky stars every day that I have not faced cancer. Endometriosis is not terminal just a different form of life sentence.

Endosister Liz x

Leave a Reply

Roses of Endometriosis

From the beginning right back to before my operation

Click to view blog entries by day to help you read in order

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 200 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 22,131 hits

Top rated posts

